HVS published its Asia Pacific hospitality newsletter for the week ending 16 October 2026. The edition carries four items across Japan, Australia and South Korea. Three items carry a figure and one carries none.
Osaka: CREAL sells one of three Garner hotels
CREAL Corporation agreed to sell the 168-key Garner Hotel Osaka Honmachi Midosuji to Centaurus GK, a Japan-based buyer. The sale forms part of a recapitalisation of a three-hotel portfolio of 518 keys.
CREAL acquired that portfolio from Hong Kong-based Axe Management Partners in July 2026 for approximately JPY21.0 billion, per the bulletin.
The sale price was not disclosed. The bulletin reports the consideration as understood to be at least JPY3.8 billion. Completion is scheduled for 15 December 2026.
The hotel carries 13 storeys and dates from 2018. It sits in Osaka's Chuo Ward, within walking distance of Honmachi and Yodoyabashi stations.
The brand history behind the asset
Axe Management bought the three Hotel WBF properties from Singapore-based CapitaLand Ascott Trust for JPY10.7 billion in March 2024. The buyer refurbished and repositioned them under the Garner brand of IHG Hotels & Resorts in January 2025.
The other two hotels hold 182 keys at Garner Hotel Osaka Honmachi Station and 168 keys at Garner Hotel Osaka Honmachi Kita Semba. The room counts reconcile to the 518-key portfolio total.
CREAL has also sold the 182-key Honmachi Station hotel to a Singapore-based investor. Completion is expected by the end of 2026.
CREAL keeps asset management duties across the portfolio. Its subsidiary CREAL Hotels continues to operate all three properties.
Osaka: Hikari buys the R Hotel Namba Daikokucho
Hikari Hospitality Fund acquired the 48-key R Hotel Namba Daikokucho in Osaka from Hong Kong-based Raion Capital. The price was not disclosed.
The fund is a Singapore-based variable capital company. AP Property Fund Management Pte Ltd manages it under a Monetary Authority of Singapore licence.
The hotel completed in 2020. It holds nine storeys and about 1,040 square metres of gross floor area. Raion Capital bought the property in 2024 and refurbished it before reopening it under the R Hotel name.
The site sits in Naniwa Ward, a one-minute walk from Daikokucho Station on the Osaka Metro Midosuji and Yotsubashi lines. The bulletin places the purchase inside the fund's stated strategy of hospitality investment across Japan.
Canberra: Fifty Group enters the ACT market
Fifty Group acquired two Canberra hotels with a combined 137 keys. The purchases mark the group's entry into the Australian Capital Territory hotel market.
The assets are the 64-key Statesman Hotel in Curtin and the 73-key Garden City Hotel in Narrabundah. Garden City trades under the BW Signature Collection flag.
Garden City sold for AUD13.7 million, or approximately AUD187,700 per key. The Statesman consideration was not disclosed.
The Statesman sits about five kilometres southwest of the central business district. It holds five food and beverage outlets, a retail shop and function spaces.
Garden City occupies a freehold site of 6,644 square metres about six kilometres southeast of the central business district. Its facilities include two food and beverage outlets, a swimming pool, a fitness centre, business facilities and meeting spaces.
Fifty Group plans upgrades at both hotels. The bulletin reports discussions on a rebrand of the two properties under one of the Accor brands.
Seoul: a KRW65 billion fund for The Hyoosik
VIP Asset Management and TS Investment closed a KRW65 billion pre-IPO project fund for The Hyoosik. Both firms are South Korea-based.
VIP Asset Management joined as a co-general partner. It committed KRW20 billion of its own capital, its largest proprietary investment in an unlisted company to date.
The Hyoosik dates from 2019. It provides planning, branding, construction and operating services for small and mid-sized accommodation properties. The operator has developed or run more than 300 properties nationwide, including sites under its own Aank brand.
The company will direct the proceeds toward partnerships with Marriott International and Hilton, per the bulletin. The stated target is the three- to four-star tourist hotel segment. The Hyoosik also aims at an initial public offering in 2028.
What the bulletin prints and withholds
Three of the four items carry no disclosed sale price. The CREAL figure of at least JPY3.8 billion is the bulletin's own understanding of the consideration.
The bulletin prints its figures in yen, Australian dollars and won. It states no combined total for the week.
CREAL dates the portfolio purchase to July 2026 and the Osaka handover to 15 December. The Honmachi Station completion follows by the end of 2026. The bulletin prints no completion date for the Canberra purchase.